The Future of Evangelicals: A Conversation with Pastor Rick Warren

This is a very long but very interesting transcript of Rick Warren talking with a bunch of journalists in Washington.  I found it here.

I get the impression from some of my friends that they don’t like Rick Warren because… well…. how can you be rich and famous, american, white etc.  and a good Christian?  Or maybe they don’t like him/read anything of his cause his books actually sell, I don’t know.

I’ve always liked him – sometimes he’s a little tooooo quotable and pithy for me, but he just makes sense on so many issues – and from all appearances, he really gets things done, and with the right spirit.  As you can see from this article – he works very hard to stay away from emphasizing the typical hot-button issues – and continually steers things back to some very basic things – love, generosity and compassion being some of them. I can agree with that.

Highlights from this article for me include his discussion on fundamentalism (anyone of any belief system who stops listening), his(Saddleback’s) organization which is attempting to  bring back some “civility” to America, and his words on generosity, and what he has done with the millions of dollars he has made from his books (a hint – he gives almost all of it away).

One Response to The Future of Evangelicals: A Conversation with Pastor Rick Warren

  1. The John says:

    Wow, that was actually better than I thought it was going to be. Yeah, Rick Warren was my Hero in bible college, then became a villain as I leapt off the Mega church evangelical band wagon, now I can respect the things he’s done and doing without any of the unhelpful extremes.

Leave a Reply

