Stop the Phonebooks

I hadn’t really thought of it, but phone books really are quite a waste.  I use mine once in a while, but could really get buy with an online alternative – and it is just so much paper when you consider it, and it comes whether people ask for it or not.  I got started thinking on this when I saw a link to this site in the states.  Here’s some Canadian options I found after a quick look:

6 Responses to Stop the Phonebooks

  1. Adam says:

    My wife and I were driving down the road the other day on our way to the Farmers Market, when we saw about a dozen huge, fat, Yellow phonebooks in the middle of the road.

    Here in the D.C. area, the phone book company throws them up into you’re driveway. Though there are places to take them to have them recycled, not many people do, so they end up in the trash or just laying there or kicked into the street. In the street they become big yellow pieces of pulp as the cars run over them.

    Arrrg. I hate it!

  2. Diane says:

    That only works if you are among the better off who have access to the internet at their home. That does not work for others who have no access at their home because I am certain that sometimes they would like to phone their physician, teacher, daycare, look up an address or other wonderful thing that the phone book provides us with. If you do not like your phone book give it to a school aged child. They get 10 cents for every book they bring in to be recycled, or recycle it with your newspapers.

  3. Tim says:

    I wasn’t talking about rich/poor or saying people shouldn’t be allowed to phone their doctor, I was talking about unnecessary waste – you bring up a good point, there are likely still some who use a phone-book regularly, and also likely some who need it because they have no access to a computer or internet, but I imagine that number is shrinking very quickly and the fact is that for such a huge amount of paper, we should at least have the option to choose whether it is delivered to our door. Recycling is one thing, keeping the tree alive is another. Of course it’s not that simple, since if the phonebook company doesn’t have the volume to print it will likely lose advertisements, which would mean they would charge for the book, which would mean those on the lower end would suffer. So not a simple issue, but one that I think needs to be considered, especially as things continue to change.

  4. Alex Ireland says:

    Check out http://www.YellowPagesGoesGreen.org. This site allows consumers to opt out from having telephone books delivered. If you want one, great, but if you do not want one sign up at this site and they will notify the publishers.

  5. thos003 says:

    Thanks for the link! That is a great site. I really wish they would get a clue.

  6. thos003 says:

    By the way, the real way to bring them down is hit them in the wallet… the advertisers! If they only knew how much they are wasting. I almost hate to give this info out to my competitors, but my conscience gets the best of me. Here are my stats for phone book calls: Phone Book Wasted Advertising Money

    – Phoenix Pest Control Guy

Leave a Reply

