Inheritance


IMG_0713
Originally uploaded by ykcofc

Today Elijah found my inheritance in one of the boxes still unpacked. Tonight we broke it out and played for a while, it was fun and brought back some good memories.
Grandma McMillan (as in Marie) and I used to spend a lot of time playing dominoes when I was younger. Of course Grandma likes to give her stuff away, and for years tried to send this domino set home with me. I always refused, telling her I’d pick it up later, which worked fine until one time Tara visited Kennedy without me and Grandma convinced her to take it. The dominoes have sat in their box for years, in the nightstand beside my bed actually, a good reminder of Grandma and Grandpa, and I always joke with Tara about them being my inheritance. They are one of those things of course, that have little “worldly” value, but are worth a lot to me.

Just to clarify that’s my “early” inheritance, Grandma’s been spreading it out for a long time.

2 Responses to Inheritance

  1. Jenn J says:

    I can definately relate to this post- a) Unpacked boxes and b) inheritance items- made me think of a candy dish sitting on my shelf that was Grandma Ashby’s- it carries so many good memories and warm thoughts of the hugs that always preceded the lifting of the lid!
    Hope you guys are doing good- we’re anxious to meet up sometime.

  2. Carolyn says:

    Great picture! Hope you are adjusting well to Saskatchewan life. Sorry we missed each other this summer but we will certainly meet up next time we are home to the great white north. How is Michael sleeping?

    Miss you guys,
    Carolyn

Leave a Reply

