Old News – New Pastor

Well I guess since it’s been announced Sunday morning in our congregation I can put in on here – it is likely old news to most people who frequent this place, but our church family has taken the final step(almost) in hiring a new pastor. Scott & Amy Landry will be coming to Yellowknife in a few weeks for a visit, and barring any really significant problems for either them or us, like them being allergic to mosquitoes or us not liking their hairstyles – they will be moving to YK sometime in August.

I don’t know Scott & Amy, but I’m really excited how everything worked out. I am totally confident in the process and effort our search team put into this decision – and it sounds like Scott and Amy will be a great fit for our group. They are Ontario people (which I’ll work at forgiving them for – kidding of course) and are moving from a Youth Ministry position in Colorado.
It has been about a year and a half since Steve & Rebecca moved away, and it’s been a tough year for the church I think – probably pretty normal for a church with a long term pastor leaving, but still tough. At some points I didn’t have much hope that someone new would ever show up. I should have had more faith (as is often the case), but we ended up with two very strong candidates in the end – I don’t think our congregation could have asked for better.

I’m excited about this new chapter in our history.

3 Responses to Old News – New Pastor

  1. God is good and always knows what’s best. Thanks for the update Tim.

  2. xblairx says:

    hey mang,
    i know what you mean. we are stoked down here for jason and shannon to come. with chumps like you and Jerms there, things will be okay…

    much love.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hey,
    I really enjoy your blog! Thanks for your honest heart and truthfulness, it is refreshing to hear someone be real. Its cool to read about real people who serve Jesus.

    I am a musician, and I would be honored if you would check out my music. All music on my site is free for download. Anyway, don’t want to be a pest, I just thought that I’d share.

    Thanks,
    -Sean
    _____________________
    http://www.SeanDietrich.com
    “All my music is free.”

Leave a Reply

