Anger

Blair has a great post on anger, violence and his response to someone threatening his family. It got me thinking about the topic, one I think we all can relate to dealing with.

Some questions and thoughts…
– One of the surprises of married life for me has been how angry my sweet spouse can make me, no one else is even close. She would likely say the same about her sweet spouse. The other side of that of course is that no one has ever come close to making me as happy and fulfilled, makes sense I guess.
– I have no doubt what my response would be if the choice was simply violence/anger vs. protecting my wife or child – I would choose violence. I am not sure this is right or what Jesus would do. The truth of course is that the choice is almost never that simple. Situational Ethics are mostly a waste of time (in my opinion) because they always attempt to boil a complicated decision down to a one time yes or no answer.
– Years ago I thought I was a pacifist, but I’m not sure. Doing my current job I’ve realized how easy it was for me to think peaceful thoughts and spout off theories about this kind of thing, all the time taking for granted the peace I live in, mostly thanks to police and soldiers who protect me or have protected me in years past, and are often (or were) forced to use violence to do it.
– I still couldn’t be a policeman or a soldier, and I hope I never have to make the choice about going to war. I have huge respect for the generations before me who faced that choice, no matter what their decision was.
– Jesus got angry didn’t he? It seems like the thing that really ticked him off was the high & mighty taking advantage of the poor & lowly… that’s when he brought out the whip. Would there ever be times when we would be right to do the same?
– Speaking of a whip, sometimes anger can make you look like an ass (see Numbers chapter 22)
– The New Testament is pretty clear that anger is something Christians should put behind them. Here’s one that jumped out at me: James 1:19-21
“My dear brothers and sisters, be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry. Your anger can never make things right in God’s sight. So get rid of all the filth and evil in your lives, and humbly accept the message God has planted in your hearts, for it is strong enough to save your souls.”

– I’m thankful for this: 1 Thessalonians 5:9 “For God decided to save us through our Lord Jesus Christ, not to pour out his anger on us.”

Leave a Reply

